BLC – Week One Recap (and other awesome things!)

I actually finished Week One about 4 days ago but I keep forgetting to blog about it! Here’s the lowdown on Week One:

I started with a weight of 205.0. That in itself is a minor miracle. I haven’t been under 220 in about a year. So I was pumped to start off with that weight, making me even more determined to end up with a even lesser weight in 3 months! My goal weight in the long run is 135-140, so I’m getting closer. If you read my last post, you know that I made a “Biggest Loser Challenge 27 Weight Loss Tracker and Journal”. I am doing my best to write in that each day so I can keep up with my progress. Here’s the breakdown: I’m tracking how many “freggies” (fruits and vegetables) I eat each day; how many ounces of water I drink each day; how many minutes I work out each day and how many points I earn a day for the challenge. Totals for Week One are as follows:

WEEK ONE STATS

Starting Weight: 205.0                                       Week One Weight: 206.2

Freggies planned to consume: 14                      Freggies consumed: 2

Water planned to consume: 448 ounces            Water consumed: 256 ounces

Fitness minutes planned: 120                            Fitness Minutes accomplished: 194

Days planned to stay within calorie range: 5      Days actually stayed within calorie range: 3

Total challenge points available: 273                 Total challenge points earned: 169

I’m going to examine this and see what I can do better next week (which has already started, but hey). My main point that I want to address is the fact that I DID NOT get in as many “freggies” as I would have liked. Granted, we don’t have many in the house. Before my dad goes shopping tomorrow, I am going to make a “freggie-rich” menu for the week. I’m going to aim for at least 3 a day. Two of the squares on the “Bingo” card for the BLC Weekend Challenge this weekend are: Plan your menu for a week and try a new food or meal. So, if I plan my menu and try a new meal; two squares down!

As for my water consumption, that was derailed by my Dr. Pepper consumption. You know how some people become addicted to illegal drugs? My addiction is worse and it’s legal. I find it hard to go a day without drinking Dr. Pepper, but I’m working on it. I know I need to drink more water! Flavoring it seems to help a lot, but that’s a lot of sugar and I still get the craving for Dr. Pepper. I’m going to try something I found called “spa water”. It’s basically flavoring your water with actual fruits or vegetables. I found a water bottle online that will allow me to do this, so I’m going to get it when I get my Amazon gift card. Staying away from the Dr. Pepper is a whole other matter. Once, I asked my dad not to buy me any so I wouldn’t even have the temptation in the house. I ended up scrounging for change in my purse and getting a 20-oz from the convenience store. My only consolation for that slip is: I met a cute guy on the way home. 🙂 I didn’t get his number though. Doh! So, that part is still a daily struggle, but I will prevail!

Another goal for next week (this week) is to stay within my calorie range for 5 out of 7 days. So far, I have done that for 2 day. If I can stay within range for the next three days, I will have that goal met. *fingers crossed* Planning my menu will be a big help in this regard. If I know how many calories I will consume before I even eat, I (hopefully) can’t go overboard. I will keep at least 300 calories as “free” calories, in case of midnight munchies! I know I can do this if I actually try. All I need to think about is how amazing I feel (physically and mentally) when I see a loss on the scale. One step closer to my goal!

One other good thing that happened today is: I saw “The Boy Next Door” starring Jennifer Lopez and Ryan Guzman. Jennifer Lopez is one of my favorite actresses anyway, but this movie is one of her best! The storyline is: Claire (Jennifer Lopez) is going through a divorce and is feeling very out of sorts and vulnerable. Noah (Ryan Guzman) moves in next door to help take care of his uncle. Noah makes friends with her son and starts coming around more and more. One weekend, both Claire’s son and Noah’s uncle are out of town. One thing leads to another, and they end up in a “compromising position”. From there……..let’s just say, it’s an edge-of-your-seat thriller that you will have to see for yourself to find out! It’s a phenomenal performance by Jennifer Lopez and Ryan Guzman. I had never heard of Ryan Guzman until this movie, but you can bet I will be looking him up after seeing it. I urge anyone who is up for a movie experience that will (literally) have you on the edge of your seat to GO SEE “THE BOY NEXT DOOR” ASAP!

Well, that’s all I have for right now. I will see you next Wednesday for weigh-in and Week 2 Recap! Even though I gained 1.2 pounds this week, I’m hoping for at least a small loss next week. Hope you’ll tune in to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

