Day 2!

Today was another good day. It was Day 2 of the Biggest Loser 27 Challenge so that means TNT (Tighten and Tone). There are many different options for strength training that you can choose from. I chose to work out to a video on Jessica Smith’s website. She has over 150 free fitness videos! (www.jessicasmithtv.com) I haven’t done strength training in a while. It was a 24-minute video and I was sweating about 10 minutes into it. When I pushed through and got done with the entire video, I felt awesome! I’m so excited to work out right now. I want to start changing my body for the better and have a healthy BMI. There are so many benefits to being healthy. Living longer for one!

I stayed within my calorie range, finished my weight loss journal, drank 64 ounces of water and exercised. Pretty good day physically. A couple other good things happened today as well. First off, I tried a new recipe I found on Pintrest. It’s a “Smoked Sausage Pasta Bake. Here’s the recipe:

Smoked Sausage Pasta Bake
3 cups dry penne pasta
1 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp flour
1 1/4 cups milk
1/2 tsp dry basil
1/4 tsp dry oregano
1/4 tsp dry thyme
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
8 oz tomato sauce
1/2 pound smoked sausage, cubed (I used Hillshire Farms)
1/3 cup diced green pepper (more or less depending on how you like it)
1 cup mozzarella cheese
2 Tbsp parmesan cheese

– Cook pasta in salted water until barely done. Don’t overcook. Set aside.
– Melt butter in a saucepan.
– Whisk in the flour, then the milk. Whisk and boil for at least 1 minute.
– Add the spices and garlic. Stir in the tomato sauce. Add to the noodles. Add the smoked sausage and green peppers and stir well.
– Pour into a greased 2 1/2 quart casserole dish.
– Sprinkle with parmesan and mozzarella cheese.
– Cover and bake at 350° for 20 minutes. Uncover and bake for an additional 5-10 minutes.

It makes about 6 servings.

It was really tasty and my parents asked me to make it again next week. The other good thing is that I discovered a fitness app called “Nexercise”. It gives you points for completing and reporting your fitness activity. You can then redeem those points for gift cards or products – such as a FitBit Zip Wireless Activity Tracker. That’s the one I am saving up for right now. This app is really motivating me to work out every day. Maybe not an all-out 30-60 minutes a day, but at least 10 minutes. I did have Dr. Pepper today (DOH!) but I still got all my water in, so that’s a plus. I’m happy and ready for bed now. Night all!

Leave a Reply

